Hey all,

I hope you had a wonderful weekend!  Mine was a great balance of spending time with loved ones, enjoying the warm weekend weather, and relaxing!

Friday night I headed down to Ryan’s to help him prep for his 5th annual Thanksgiving Dinner.  This year’s dinner was a little more than a week early because he’ll be traveling, as will I! I actually can’t believe how quickly my trip crept up on me and I’m so not ready in terms of packing or making sure all my paper work is in order.  Plus there are other little things I would like to take care of before leaving the country, like getting the dog groomed, celebrating my mom’s birthday, work stuff, etc…ah, I need to take a second to breath and write out a list!

But before looking to my crazy week, let’s recap this past wonderful weekend!!

Saturday’s dinner kicked off with a few appetizers, pictured here broiled feta cheese and pumpkin soup.

About 1.5-2 hours later I was getting quite hungry and didn’t want to nibble on too many appetizers, but thankfully dinner was served!

Dinner this year was in the form of a potluck; thankfully, it would have been quite involved to feed about 30 people, doable for sure, but a huge time commitment.  Ryan made the Turkey, sauteed vegetables and creamed corn.  I made cranberry sauce and collard greens. And do go and try this creamed corn recipe.  I used to think creamed corn was the most disgusting thing produced ever, one bite of this recipe, and I’m a believer!!

Additionally there was duck, mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole, buffalo sauce mac’n’cheese, rolls, and I’m sure I’m forgetting something!

After letting my food settle for about an hour I was ready to bring on the desserts!

 

I grabbed a bit of one of the above, a small slice of pumpkin cheesecake, and a vanilla bourbon cookie.  I shared this plate with Ryan but fell in love with the cheesecake and went back for another slice! There was also apple pie (I took a bite of Ryan’s) and coffee cake (which I enjoyed a small slice of the next morning). I was in love with the cheesecake, I have to get the recipe!

Time for some puppy loving, Mei soaked up the attention.

 

 

After a few glasses of wine the guys were getting quite comfortable on the couch.

To the point Mei wanted to join!

Sunday was such a beautiful day that I insisted on a long walk to get in some vitamin D and to get the pup some exercise.

It’s hard to believe that just last week there was snow!!

Off to a talk, catch ya later.

Nicole

