Hey Bloggies,

Welcome to another Friday! How was your week?

Earlier in the week I opened my refrigerator and staring at me I saw a bag of pears, the largest bag of pears that I ever did see.  Why you ask?  Well since my farm was put out of commission due to Hurricane Irene they opted to deliver our fruit every other week (they are still delivering fruit from the local orchards which survived the storm), which means 2x the amount of fruit given to me at once, that I must consume before it spoils. And yes, it’s true that pears have a nice shelf life, but I’m not the biggest pear fan.  So what’s a girl to do?

Make pear butter!

2.5 pounds of pears, pealed and cut into small chunks, a cinnamon stick, and a cup of sugar.  Place into the slow cooker on high for 1 hr,

and then on low for at least 12 more hours.  I think it took me another 15 before I had a nice thick, congealed mix.  Oh and make sure to stir from time to time, it really helps the process along.

Enjoy,

Nicole

