I’ve been delaying this post, simply because I’m not sure how to go about writing it.  This past July I finally made it to the doctor’s office to address my chronic knee pain which had only gotten worse over the last year.

At the time of my appointment I was diagnosed with patellofemoral syndrome and was referred to a personal trainer. After the first visit I was told to stop all activity, even minimize when possible the use of stairs.  At first my decreased level of exercise drove me crazy, I need to move to get rid of stress. However, after a week or so I adjusted and appreciated the extra time I had on my hands and deepened my pilates practice.  Unfortunately as I mentally became okay with low impact activity physically I was starting to notice what unspent calories was beginning to do-though to be honest prior to the knee injury there were quite a few trips full of delicious eats and little time to expend the extra energy, so it was a few months combined not being able to live my normal healthy life which usually provides a happy mean.

By mid August my knee pain was significantly better, and only increased during exasperation.  With additional strength training, lots of stretching and ice I was finally able to hop back onto the elliptical for 20 minutes, then 30 minutes, and during the last couple of weeks 45-60 minutes.

Once I was able to do 30 minutes on the elliptical with no pain I ventured to my urban rebounding class.  While not in pain, I kept my activity to the basic moves and took plenty of breaks.  Though I made it through the class I ended up in near tears after the class.  It was hard!  I never considered the class to be hard.  I had broken the mental barrier to get back to the gym after >6 week hiatus but now I was met with the physical once more.   To know I was once able to do harder moves and that I would have to work back to my prior fitness level was far from ideal.

After another 2 weeks of increased and more intense cardio on top of strength and stretching I finally got up the courage to take a spin class and here I could see how strong my knees were getting.  I made it thought the class without a single ounce of pain and barely had to hold back in my intensity.  A few days later I traveled near a mile up a mountain and then 2.4 of near straight down, lots of impact but again no pain!

So this weekend I started to run.  It’s been about baby steps all along this road to recovery so no trying to run 1/2 mile, or trying to run a mile…no, instead it’s 30 seconds of running, 1.5 min walk, 30 sec run, etc.  Who knows how long until I can run 3 miles straight, but I’m happy, I’m learning to take each achievement with stride and look forward to overcoming the next hurdle.

Nicole

