Hey Bloggies,

How are things?  How was your week?  Mine was nothing special-a little pink eye (no idea where that came from), 2 more spin classes with no pain (wahoo), and of course lab.

Last night Matt and I planned to cook dinner.  I’m all about fall despite the 78* high today so I wanted something with winter squash.  Matt suggested Giada’s Butternut Squash Lasagna.  Well, I don’t know if I was tired or what but her recipe on the food network just wasn’t clicking.  Like was I suppose to add the milk sauce to the squash puree or was that another sauce all together?  Well Matt and I decided to add the milk to the puree.  Wrong!

Canned pumpkin to the rescue! I ended up using this for the puree layer and my butternut squash/basil milk sauce mixture for the sauce layer.

In the end it was absolutely delicious, another kitchen disaster averted!  Serioulsy don’t know what’s up with me and cooking lately.  Oh well, the more you play the more you learn.

While the lasagna was in the oven I challenge Matt to Jenga, in the end we each won a round.

I was trying to disprove his theory that when 2 intelligent people play the game it’s always the person who goes first who loses.  Though we only played 2 games his theory held true.

Going to have to test this out with someone else.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend,

Nicole

