Why do you cook?  Why do you enjoy/seek out/explore/try new foods?

For me I think Julia Child and my grandfather were huge inspirations.  After Seasame Street went off on a Saturday morning, I would leave PBS on and watch an afternoon of cooking with the great chiefs including the one of a kind Julia Child.

source

As for my grandfather, I remember his time spent in the basement either watching football or making his homemade wine-as a 7 year old I was amazed that a person could make their own wine! And then, the holiday parties!  He always provided a spread of the most amazing dishes including the most succulent ribs.  I might just eat ribs again if he was alive to cook my up a batch.

Today I wish I had a bit more time to spend in the kitchen, or perhaps the larger issue is having enough people to share all the goodies…

Today’s kitchen eats-

Pear-Cranberry Coffee Cake

Ingredients:

1 cup cranberries

1 1/2 cup sugar

2 pears, chopped into small cubes

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 butter

2 eggs

splash of bourbon

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1/2 cup almond milk (regular milk works as well)

Heat oven to 350* and grease 8x8x2 pan. Chop up cranberries very finely with a 1/2 cup of sugar.  Leave on a paper towel to drain.

In a bowl shift flour, baking powder, and salt.  In a separate bowl mix butter and remaining sugar until nice and creamy.  Add egg one at a time, followed by vanilla and bourbon. Alternate between adding the flour mixture and the milk to the butter/sugar mix.

Into the pan add 1/3 of the batter, 1/2 of the fruit-mix cranberries and pear and spread on top of the batter except from around the edges, add another 1/3 of batter, the remaining fruit, and the remaining batter.  Cook at 350* for 40 minutes or until a tooth pick comes out clean.

Mmm, so good, I think my bad luck in the kitchen is over!

Proverbs-8:33  Hear instruction, and be wise, and refuse it not.

Later,

Nicole

