Happy 2012!

I toasted in the New Year first with my mom and sister on the 29th, my last night home.  While my mom readied the fire pit outside the dogs played with each other one last time.

We had a bit of sparkling cider,

and my sister enjoyed making a smore.  It was a fun way to spend my last night home.

Last night I formally brought in the New Year with a dinner at my apartment, sticking pretty close to my planned menu.

Appetizers-roasted pepper and artichoke dip (healthier alternative to the traditional artichoke dip) and stuffed endive leaves, both delicious:

And dinner, from one end,

…to the other,

and close up.  Here the cauliflower ragu.

Salad, and risotto brought by guest, along with roasted chicken,

and warm chickpea salad (my favorite dish of the night).

Mei had a bit of trouble bringing in the New Year, she was ready to pass out at 11, but she pushed through and gave Yifan a kiss at 12.

After watching the ball drop, a few games of Jenga were played, yeah, we had a pretty crazy night.

Wishing you all the best for 2012, it’ll be a great year!

xoxo,

Nicole

