When cooking for one I never feel inclined to make anything that requires more than a few ingredients or a few dishes for that matter, and always worry about having too many left overs that go to waste.  And unfortunately I feel like I haven’t been doing very much cooking with others lately, hence the reason I haven’t been blogging as much.

But now that spring is in the air I’m ready to get back to it!  Plus the CSA is right around the corner and I’ll have plenty of produce that I would hate to go to waste. Last Sunday I helped Ryan out with one of his Sunday dinners.  I took care of the asparagus and snap pea salad, and had planned on making a rhubarb strawberry compote to go over homemade vanilla ice cream.  Unfortunately, I was not able to find any rhubarb and didn’t end up having time to make homemade ice cream.  In the end we went with strawberries and Breyer’s ice cream.

Ryan also made homemade pesto which he served with pasta and salmon, it was delicious!!

Most recently I was able to cook with Crissy and Ena, when visiting Ena this past weekend.  We made a healthier version of a quiche, we used a part skim mozzarella cheese instead of feta and pizza crust because we couldn’t find bread stick dough.

Along with the quiche we served a lemon herb rice salad.

As we cooked I sipped on a malbec, my favorite.

Since it was our first time with these dishes, it took a bit of time but now that I have an idea of the steps involved, I’m sure I could cut the time in half.

Catch ya later,

Nicole

 

