Hey my lovely readers,

It’s Monday, but with the sun shining, and a holiday midweek, I have no complaints!

I also had a lovely (loving that word right now, so Victorian) Sunday with a great church service with a message that really hit home.  Right now we’re on a new series called “Parable-writing a better story for my life.” A church member came forward and shared his experience with raising a 13 year old severely autistic son and his battle to have faith-why should he/his son be dealt such a bad hand in life? Similarly, I feel like my father was taken away from me early in life.  He was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis before I was born and I grew up watching him suffer and deteriorate from the disease until he passed away during the winter of my senior year of high school. And while I feel like I was robbed of the chance to have him walk me down the aisle one day, teach me how to drive a stick shift, push me in the pool to make me a swimming rock star (he was captain of his swim team, life guard, etc), and in general just to get to know him better (I just found out from my grandma that he was certified in scuba diving); my faith never wavered.

I don’t mean to make myself sound better or higher than anyone else, but I’ve always understood that things happen for a reason. As awful as it may sound my parents’ divorce when I was just 2 was a blessing.  I had the chance to become really close to my grandma when I went to visit my dad on the weekends and as selfish as it may be, I would have a completely different life if my mother and myself were my father’s primary care providers as his illness progressed.  My grandmother and grandfather, were his angels. While it was never easy for my grandmother, it was her son and she would have done anything for him.

Anyhow, I guess my point is people are placed into this world to make a difference in the lives of others. Life isn’t fair, but why should it be?  Tough times make us stronger, build our character, and make us want more out of life. My father’s disease, my mother’s type 1 diabetes, my great aunt’s  syringomyelia, and my cousin’s lupus, drove my interest in biomedical research. And personal experiences continues to motivate me to pursue my interest in public health, particularly race and health disparities in relation to neighborhood stressors.

Moving on, I spent the rest of the afternoon watching the Eurocup final, and catching up with Amanda at Candle Cafe.

Last night, I attempted to get to bed early in order to beat the heat with an early workout, but no dice. My head was racing, and I tossed and turned for a good hour before I decided to just get up and read until the sleepiness came.  I started reading Shades of Darkness, but that did little clear my head, so I shifted to some public health articles.

This little dog also did not help in the sleep department.  Since her hair cut last Wednesday she is all up on me at night, to steal my warmth?  I like to cuddle but even with her little size she manages to push me to the edge of the bed :(.

Off to get some lab reading done, this post ended up being longer than I intended but it was nice to pause and reflect.  Not to mention lab has been noisier than normal (which is ridiculous because its already gotten pretty bad the last couple of months) and is just quieting down, and I need to take advantage while it last!

Laters,

Nicole

 


