Hey loves,

I got up early this morning to get in a little baking before it was too hot.  I hate turning on the oven during the summer, but really wanted to do something with the lingering fruit in my refrigerator.

So glad I did because I made the best cake EVER!!  Everyone in my lab has raved about it all morning, and its only 11am 🙂

Preheat oven to 350*

Ingredients:

·1 stick unsalted butter, softened
·½ cup packed light brown sugar
·2 tablespoons water
·2 cups pitted plums, cut into wedges + about 1/3 pint of cherries
·1 ¾ all purpose flour (could experiment with others)
·½ almond meal or flour (I blended almonds, depending on the speed you get meal or flour, just make sure not to go to far or you will have butter)
·1 cup granulated sugar
·1 tablespoon baking powder
· ¼ teaspoon salt
· 1 cup milk (I used skim and didn’t miss the extra fat)
· 2 eggs
·½  teaspoon vanilla
·1 teaspoon almond extract

I started with about 2 cups of yellow plums and 1/3 pint of sour cherries, all pitted.

Then I placed 3 tablespoons of the butter into an 8 x 8 pan and melted in the oven.   Taking the pan out of the oven I added water and brown sugar and mixed together.

Next I arranged the fruit in the brown sugar mix.

While the butter was melting I mixed together the dry ingredients in a large bowl.  In a small bowl I mixed together the remaining butter, eggs, milk, vanilla and almond extract.  When first adding the wet into the dry, I mixed together by hand. Once everything was well incorporated I used an electric mixer on medium for 1 min.

Then batter onto the fruit.

And into a 350* oven for 45 minutes.

Out and let cool in the pan for 5 minutes, don’t allow much longer or it might be hard to free from the pan.

Place a plate on top of the cake and…FLIP!

Viola, enjoy, it really is amazing.

Later,

Nicole

