So there are 2 ways I usually go about using my CSA ingredients, 1) look for recipes featuring one or two items from my weekly produce or 2) throw everything into a pan or pot for a saute or soup.

Last night I went over to Ryan’s for dinner and we pretty much did the same to make a vegetable lasagna.  I started by cutting up eggplant, peppers, summer squash, carrots, onions, basil and parsley.  Then we decided to throw in kale and beets.  The final 2 ingredients were my favorite additions to the lasagna and the beets over took the dish (in a good way) giving the impression that we had used tomato sauce.

The combination of flavors were absolutely delicious. And the mixture of 3 Italian cheeses-mozzarella, Parmesan, and I believe Asiago, made it that much better.

The beets this season have been in full force which had me wondering about their health benefits.  After some quick reading I found out that beets are part of the chenopod family which also includes chard, spinach and quinoa.  Items in this family provide nutrients often hard to find from other food sources including folate and maganese as well as potassium, vitamin C, magnesium, and iron.  Mmm good to know :).

For dessert we enjoyed some fresh fruit

and a few bites of seasonal doughnut planet doughnuts. Blueberry and orange.

The blueberry was OK, I think the flavor could have been stronger, but the orange was perfect.

Back to science writing, catch ya later.

Nicole

