I’m in Pullman, Washington until Monday afternoon for one of the final experiments for my dissertation and boy am I exhausted!

I was up at 4 am on Thursday in order to catch my 7 am flight out of JFK to Lewiston, ID (about an hours drive from Pullman). My grandmother insisted I take a cab since I was leaving so early and as a result I let myself sleep an extra 30 minutes, making for a grand total of 4 hours.  Even so I ended up at the airport with an hour before my flight so I grabbed a coffee and did some reading.

Apparently I could have slept-in even later.

I met my collaborator and friend at the airport and after driving to Pullman and dropping my things off we had lunch at the Pullman golf club.

And went on a nice little hike so I could stretch my legs.

We then enjoyed dinner that evening at The Black Cypress. A cute trendy restaurant in the downtown area.  I started with a glass of malbec.

I wasn’t extremely hungry after having a late lunch so I went with clams (which I still only ate about half of), and a beet salad.

Friday morning it was time to get to work, and in fact we worked off and on from 8:30am to 2:30 am.  There were a handful of breaks, time enough to eat and I even fit in some yoga!

We lunched at Southfork Public House. The atmosphere here was fun, I would be curious to see what its like in the evening or on the weekends, and the waitstaff were friendly and considerate.

For example, when I asked for no tomato on my salad, our waiter asked if the chef should also leave off the salsa which I wasn’t aware was part of the salad.

Saturday we were still up rather early in order to check out the farmer’s market in Moscow and grab some breakfast before heading to WSU’s first home football game of the season.

The farmers market was full of beautiful fruits and veggies as well as crafts from local artisans.  I wish I had cash with me because there were several pieces of unique pieces of jewelry that would have even made for great Christmas presents (I know kinda early for that, but I’m kicking myself now for not stopping at the ATM).

We had breakfast at the Breakfast club.  I ordered an omelet which came with choice of 2 pancakes, or toast and hash browns, or huckleberry zucchini bread and hash browns, all for only 7.99!  Huckleberries are a big thing out here so I decided to give the zucchini bread a try.

I made my way through most of the omelet, a few bites of the potatoes and took the bread home to eat for later. So much food!

Then it was off to cheer for the Cougs who were playing Eastern Washington. I wasn’t sure what to expect, I had never been to a college football game before and people have been flooding into this little city since Thursday in their RVs in order to catch the game.

The stadium also had a new extension added in the last year making the stadium capacity larger than the city’s population!

The game was a lot of fun and I was easily able to get excited for the Cougs who won 24-20.

And that brings me to now!  I just finished an insanity workout and am feeling the lack of sleep.  Heading to Moscow soon for dinner and hitting up the local food co-op. There granola is so cheap and I need to get some veggies for tomorrow’s dinner (again why didn’t I buy at the farmer’s market?).  Then maybe I’ll attempt to get some more writing down when I get back?  More likely I think the bed will be calling my name!! One more longer day of work tomorrow and I really need to get in a long run in the morning so sleep is vital.  Then I fly back to the east coast Monday early afternoon.  I’m enjoying the views and quiet here in Washington, but I’m missing a few familiar faces.

Oh I can’t leave you without telling you about my Walmart experience here.  During one of our breaks yesterday, we stopped by Walmart to pickup some toilet paper.  As we were pulling into the parking lot this lady on a motorized scooter crosses the street with her fat white cat on a leash sitting in the front basket.

It is really an interesting mix here with students and townies, for lack of a better word.  But all in all a nice place, not somewhere I could call home, but nice.

Later,

Nicole

 

 

 

