Hey all,

Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and enjoyed time with friends and family.  Sorry for the posting hiatus, but I was in Cuba over the last week and returned to New York Saturday evening. I am still processing the events of the last week but will share my Cuban experience throughout the week.

For now, I will say it was a trip of a lifetime.  I absorbed a great amount of information and enjoyed the company of 25 fellow travelers from around the US. Since landing in Miami on Saturday afternoon I’ve been sharing and rambling on about every detail of the trip to friends and family, but I really miss these 25 individuals who I was readily able to ask a question or receive feedback about a particular encounter or conversation that occurred over the week.  Thankfully we live in a society were internet is easily available, and facebook and email allow us to keep in touch.

Other then access to internet and the ability to make phone calls I mostly missed vegetables and the boyfriend while on the trip.  Unfortunately the United Terminal in Miami lacked in the food options and I was stuck eating Burger King!  I can’t tell you the last time I had fast food, I also must admit I kinda enjoyed the grilled chicken sandwich and fries :/ I think it was the soft bread and I think my body was craving fat as well.

Sunday was rather relaxing with a little house cleaning and a long cardio session at the gym.  I was all smiles when I saw that Ryan was back in the city from his trip to Thailand!  I picked up a few ingredients for dinner and headed to his apartment for dinner.

On the menu-Red Russian Kale, Roasted Garlic Soup, and Roasted Vegetables (all vegetables from the CSA which is now over for the season :().

I took care of the soup, roasting about 10 very large cloves of garlic and combining with 8 large raw pieces of garlic (and when I say large, I mean large!  Each was the equivalent of 2-3 regular cloves).  Otherwise I followed Joy the Baker’s recipe and used greek yogurt.

Ryan handled the remaining vegetables- sauting the kale (which oddly turned from purple to green after cooking),

and cutting up the carrots, potatoes, and turnips for roasting.

 

I served the soup on top of the kale, and a sprinkle of Parmesan on top, twas delicious!

I skipped dessert, but Ryan taste tested cookies my roommate made for her upcoming cookie exchange party.

From top and going clockwise- green tea shortbread, oatmeal chocolate chip, green tea sugar cookie, and peanut butter.

Later,

Nicole

