Hey all!

Just got back from a lovely weekend in northern California for a little business and a little play. I haven’t had a chance to look through my photos, but I wanted to gush now, so here is a highlight via my iphone photos.

During the business side of the trip I was given the most wonderful lodgings at the Hotel Drisco, which was a stones throw from the Presidio and located in one of the most affluent areas of the city.

I lived like a queen for the a couple of nights with complimentary slippers, robes, not to mention the free wine and cheese pairings in the evenings and elaborate breakfast spread of pastries, yogurts, fruit, eggs, meats, cheeses, several spreads, and freshly made cappuccinos or lattes.

The evening pull down service accompanied with a chocolate shortbread cookie and a weather report for the next day were a few other hotel perks.

After a somewhat stressful 2 days I was greeted by a familiar face.  Ryan came out to California for the long weekend to enjoy wines from Napa Valley with me.  Before heading to the Napa region we enjoyed dinner at Bix in the finical area of San Francisco.

I loved the atmosphere of this restaurant which features some of the best Jazz music in San Francisco.  I was going to pass on the alcohol for dinner but the meal and experience screamed for a Manhattan.  Ryan and I decided to split one, but after having a sip of his I knew I wanted my own and so we ordered another.  It was a perfectly made Manhattan, simply divine.

We started the meal off with the lamb sliders, which were outstanding!  The Moroccan spices were superb.

We then split the scallops with a celeriac puree and ordered a side of brussels sprouts and kale.  Again, everything was delicious but the kale (which ended up being more mushrooms) were out of this world.  The couple sitting at the table next to us clearly saw that we were thoroughly enjoying the vegetables and inquired about the dishes-but in the end we weren’t able to sell the kale dish, their loss.

We went all out with this meal and also ordered dessert.  I paced myself knowing that I wanted to save room for the chocolate bread pudding.  It surpassed my expectations, so good!!

Saturday we hit up 4 wineries, more on that in another post.

And Sunday/Monday we went hiking-had to work off all the wine and food.

But we still picnicked like we were in wine country, how could we not!

Such a great weekend, I think this pictures says it all!

Catch ya later with more details.

-Nicole

