Hey all,

Hope you all had a Happy Valentine’s!  I think this is my second favorite holiday after Christmas, even the years I spent as a single lady. I love seeing all the flowers in the city, pinks and purples, the guys on the subway carrying flowers for their ladies, or the young girls buying stuffed bears for their moms, it all makes me smile.

I received a nice care package from my mom last night with sweets for me and Mei.  Unfortunately Mei’s jacket was a little small so I have to return it :(.

And Ryan made my day with flowers, but I especially enjoyed the 52 ninja turtle valentine’s day cards, with 52 reasons he loves me!

We took a different direction from the normal couple and I did the cooking, not to mention he generally does most of the cooking.

On the menu a simple salad with a raspberry vinaigrette dressing.

Linguine with shrimp scampi.

Paired with a syrah.

And the most over the top flourless chocolate cake.

The meringue was the perfect accompaniment to the moist cake.  Every bite just melted in my mouth, so good!

I made the cake with this Boatswain Chocolate Stout which was the perfect companion to this decadent but ridiculously amazing cake.

We ended the night with an episode of Archer, love it!

Have a great weekend,

Nicole

