Hey all-

After 2 weekends at home I hit the road with my friend Crissy to visit our friend Ena and her family in Boston. After 4 short hours spent catching up with Crissy, and listening to A Cookbook Conspiracy as an audio book (a fun plot, but the audio book made the main character-Brooklyn, and her sister-Savannah quite annoying), we arrived in Boston.

Ena and her husband picked us up from the bus stop and I made friends with Diya while sitting in the back of the car.

We then hit up Panera for lunch, which I was quite excited for…I know, a chain, but I so rarely do I go to chains in New York and they make such good bread-I was excited.

I ordered 1/2 a chicken ceasar salad and the autumn soup, which was delicious!!! But no photo.

We were then soon out the door once again to pick pumpkins, I think this meme summarizes best.  Ena found a daddy, mommy, and baby pumpkin to bring home.

We headed back to Ena’s apartment and cooked dinner, sipped on wine and chatted until the crazy hour of 11 pm when we all retired to bed. I was so tired, and actually slept in until 8:30, crazy!!

After a lazy morning sipping on tea, we headed to Piattini for brunch/lunch.

I was surprised about the rather-umm elegant interior, it didn’t seem to match the outdoor decor.  I would love to come back and experience the evening atmosphere, and try a glass of wine.

I went with lunch and ordered a vegetable panini with a side of asparagus soup. The bread was again incredible and it was full of perfectly cooked mushrooms, peppers, and caramelized onions-yum!

After eating we attempted to take Diya trick or treating, but we only caught the tail end of the candy giveaways.

But there was time for family photos.

And then before I knew it, it was time for Crissy and I to say our goodbyes and head for the bus home.  The ride home was not nearly so short, but I was able to get a fair start on Sheryl Sandberg’s Lean In, which I’m surprisingly enjoying very much.

Have a great weekend,

Nicole

