Like I said, a recipe this week!!

But first a recap of my Thanksgiving feast, a little last both worth a spotlight all the same.  Both because I have a lot to be thankful for this year and because the food was delicious!!

My Mom Mom’s mac’n’cheese.

My sweet potato casserole before going into the oven…

…and after.  I kinda forgot about it for a minute, hence the darker marshmallows :p.

My Mom Mom went with a large turkey breast and ham this year rather than an entire turkey.

My plate with a little bit of everything.

Now, to that recipe.  Dessert for Thanksgiving included the traditional pumpkin roll and sweet potato pie, along with a few new additions including a peach pie and sweet potato creme puffs thanks to Ryan.  I think the cream puffs were the favorite of the night.

Ryan is a little obsessed with pastries in the form of cream puffs and eclairs, with Chikalicious eclairs topping the list. This year he made it his mission to master this cookie coated concoction. And I think he may have just done it!!

He started with the traditional cream puff recipe found here, and also followed the recipes’ cooking directions.

He then made the recipe his own by rolling out sugar cookie dough (Pillsbury slice and bake stuff) and topping the puff dough with a little sugar disk.

No photo going into the over but this is what they looked like coming out.

I then made the sweet potato filling.

1 box of instant vanilla pudding

1 pint of heavy cream

1 heaping teaspoon of pumpkin spice

1/3-1/2 cup of pureed sweet potato (more or less depending on how strong you want the flavor)

Mix together the vanilla pudding and heavy cream, once is reaches a texture somewhere between pudding and whip cream fold in the pumpkin spice and sweet potato. Once everything is incorporated put the mix into a pastry bag.

Cut off the tops of the puff and fill.

Viola, enjoy!

Later,

Nicole

