Hey all and welcome to 2014!!

I spent the last few days of 2013 catching up on this blog, trying to get some writing done, cleaning the apartment, reading, and relaxing.

My cousin Mike came to the city Monday night.  Ryan and I met up with him as well as a friend from high school who was in the city with her boyfriend for a nightcap at Flatiron Lounge.

I did a little work on the 31st before squeezing in a workout. Then before I knew it Ryan was in the kitchen preparing dinner for our New Year’s Eve guest.

On the menu-Chicken, snapper, kale and brussels sprout salad, and roasted potatoes, turnips, and radishes.

Appetizers while the food cooked-a cheese plate, apples, and olives.

And the finished items, yum!

A little before 11:30 I decided to make some confetti to bring in the new year.

And then it was 12!

And the mess left behind.

New Year’s day we met up with a few friends for New Year’s day brunch at Hearth. The food was delicious and I forgot to snap a picture before digging into my meal. I only got the apple cider doughnuts we shared and the salad that accompanied Ryan’s meal, oops.  Oh well, everything was amazing so I’m sure we’ll be back to brunch their once more :).

Last but not least, for dinner I made a black eyed pea soup to bring in the new year.  The soup included black eyes peas (obviously), red peppers, kale, and chicken sausage. T’was delicious.

Hope you’re having a wonderful start to the New Year!!

Laterz,

Nicole

