I’ve been in the kitchen so much this January and falling back in love with not only cooking but baking! And while I’m not indulging in all my goodies, I am sharing them with loved ones-another aspect of cooking that I forgot I enjoyed.  I based my recipe off of this recipe, but made a few changes of my own.

Ingredients-

For the Crumble:

1/2 all purpose flour

1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup maple sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup cold unsalted butter

For the cake:

Dry ingredients-

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground cloves

Wet ingredients-

1 cup canned pumpkin (would add more next time around)

1/2 cup of milk

1/2 cup of chai pumpkin jam (could also use pumpkin butter, honey, or syrup)

1/2 cup of vegetable oil

1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of maple sugar (no maple sugar you say, use all brown sugar!)

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350* and either spray or line muffin tin (recipe makes 12-18 muffins).

Mix the dry ingredients, mix the wet ingredients, then mix together until incorporated.  Fill cupcakes 3/4 full, add on topping, press topping down slightly and pop into oven for 25 minutes-tops will spring back when finished.

Take muffins out and cool completely, enjoy!

 

