Amanda texted me in the middle of last week to see what I had planned for the weekend.  I invited her to the New York Science Festival’s Star Chat event.  I was mostly interested in the chance to see a planet or two via some high powered telescopes and perhaps hear a talk or two. She said she was in.  To make the night a little more exciting I suggested a walk across the Brooklyn Bridge and grabbing brick oven pizza for dinner and it was an event!

The comet that landed in DUMBO…

While waiting for the sun to set, we wandered and checked out some new areas of the Brooklyn Bridge Park. We had quite a bit of fun at the recreational park area.

Then the sun went down and we joined the star/space travel conversations…and attempted to take a group photo…

At least the sky was pretty in this one…

Time to look at stars and planets! Can you believe you can do this in the city? I wasn’t a believer until Saturday. I was able to see Jupiter and its moons. I was hoping to see the rings of saturn but the clouds moved in and we couldn’t see much :(.

And as we left, the comet at night.

Summers are the best!!

 

