Tags

I think there is something about the hustle and bustle of New York that just keeps you moving from point A to point B. It’s refreshing at first. I remember one of my first solo trips on the subway. I traveled from NYU’s campus in Greenwich Village to the Museum of Natural History. The subway ride didn’t leave a lasting impression, but I can still remember exiting the subway into central park. It was a cool January day, the trees were bare, and across the street I could see the beautiful neo-Romanesque building. Similarly the first time skating at Rockefeller Center underneath the huge tree or even skating in Prospect Park in Brooklyn was like something out of a movie. However, the day to day navigation through traffic with the incessant honking can leave one mentally and physically exhausted.

I’m not sure if it’s the west coast, or the decisive point in my career, or the fact that my head is currently spinning (do I need more coffee or have I had too much), or the loss of loved ones this year, but I feel like I’ve been doing a lot more self reflection over the last couple of months. It could also be that the whole turning 30 thing hit me about 6 months late…but that’s for another post.

Last week while scanning over facebook, looking for inspirational post-after the immediate upset of the election many friends posted plans for action and messages of love; I came across a post from an old friend’s sister. She was posting details about this old friend’s memorial service. I was confused. What did she mean memorial service? Scanning down her page I realized I missed the original post from a couple weeks prior announcing her death in a plane crash. I was shocked! I then spent the next couple of hours looking at this old friend’s facebook page and came across her blog and found out that she had been suffering from mental illness which led her to  a suicide attempt. Again, shock! This was a close friend from elementary and middle school. We grew apart in high school, in part due to her family moving away, but would continue to message from time to time. In college we completely lost touch. In the last few years we reconnected and caught up over email. The last time I heard from her was right before my wedding. We were going to try and connect the day of the rehearsal dinner but at the last minute she wasn’t able to come. Not sure, why we didn’t speak again after that missed meeting…minus me feeling too wrapped up in my own world.  It’s definitely a reminder that we don’t know how much time we are given on this world and to A) make the most of it; and B) don’t forget to call or just reach out to a friend and remind them that they are loved for being their incredible selves.

I need to run and get in a quick workout before heading into work for the afternoon. I’ll leave you with my workout schedule from this week, my one constant as it definitely helps with my mental health. This week many workouts were short due to time commitments but I still made sure to sweat 5 out of 7 days.

Sunday-25 min Hiit

Monday-20 min Hiit, 20 min zumba

Tuesday-Off

Wednesday-20 min pilates, 35 minute whole body strength

Thursday-Urban row class (mixture of row machine and weights)

Friday-walked, nothing intentional but skipped a bus and walked to the max (rail system here in Portland)

Saturday-45 min Hiit and strent

 

